Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Members | Private Messages | Search | FAQ    
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

All Forums
 Bass Boats, Kayaks, Canoes & Fishing Equipment
 Lures
 Meade's 'Gutless frog'. (my version)
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

shirebassa
Ausbass Member

Australia
219 Posts

Posted - 10/03/2015 :  16:57:36  Show Profile  Click to see shirebassa's MSN Messenger address Send shirebassa a Private Message  Reply with Quote
G'day guys. After some research and some very helpful blokes on here,i decided to make myself some 'Gutless frog' surface flies.

I'm no expert at tying flies,i just like to mess around and see what i can create,but these things were SUPER easy to tie.

The first frog....The brown one.
I made the body a bit too long around the back of the hook.Due to this,the profile was larger than i wanted to achieve.So to fix the problem i just ran another few wraps around the body,just back from where the foam is actually tied on,to squeeze it in a bit to get the profile i was going for.For the time being,i'll call this my 'larger model'.

The next frog was tied up using less of the foam,and keeping the back of the lure closer to the bend of the hook.I changed this one slightly,compared to the larger model.Instead of running the legs through both sides of the body,i used 2 sets of 3 strands,tied each set with a knot,to make separate legs.This one then got painted good Ol Aussie green and gold! (Hopefully it'll catch me some bronze...)

Like anything,the more you do something,the better you get at it.So...i'm really happy with the third one.I painted this one up my 'go to' colours for bass....black and purple (with yellow dots,just to jazz it up a bit!!) This will be first one i tie on.

Anyway,hope you like the look of them......

Insert Image:

181.21 KB

Insert Image:

378.45 KB

Insert Image:

288.49 KB

Insert Image:

322.08 KB